Is Jack Reacher a credible character

Jack Reacher is the fictional and infamous “drifter” character. Written by Lee Child, the former Military Police Major Jack Reacher travels all over the United States, via bus or hitchhiking. As he never got to see much during his time in the military, Jacks aim is to see everything there is to see throughout the United States. Unfortunately for Reacher, wherever he goes, trouble seems to follow.

Jack Reacher is one of the more consistent series out there. Not only in terms of quality, but in frequency of publication. Lee Child has been publishing a new addition to the Jack Reacher series annually ever since the series started with Killing Floor in 1997. Below is a list of the Jack Reacher novels in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Jack Reacher Books

Chronological Order of Jack Reacher Books

In chronological order, The Enemy would be the first book to read, as it takes place while Reacher is still in the Military followed by Night School. The Affair would be the next book to read, as it covers the end of Reachers Military career, and leads into Killing Floor. The short stories have Second Son(Reacher is 13) and High Heat(Reacher is 16).After that, all books would go by the order that they were published. Persuader also had flashbacks to during Reacher’s military career.

Publication Order of Jack Reacher Short Stories

Publication Order of Jack Reacher Collections

No Middle Name(2017)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Jack Reacher's Rules(2012)

Note:Running Blind was published as The Visitor in the United Kingdom.

If You Like Jack Reacher Books, You’ll Love…

Jack Reacher Synopsis:The Affair is the sixteenth book in Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series. Jack Reacher is a 6’5″ ex-military cop who now travels the country and has a knack for finding trouble. The Affair takes us back to before Killing Floor (the first novel in the series) when Reacher is on his last mission in the army. A dead woman is found in a small town and Jack Reacher is sent to investigate.

Shop | |

Order of Jack Reacher Books: A Readers Opinion

It’s the series that spawned a million copycats; Lee Childs books starring Jack Reacher is one of the best-selling book series out there. You’ve heard the phrase “printing money” and that’s pretty much what Lee Child does when he writes a new Jack Reacher book to add to our Order of Jack Reacher Books.

So what’s the big appeal? Well other than the fact that Jack Reacher is freaking awesome? I think it’s the whole “superhero” concept. Look at how big the comic book market has been for years, and all of the superheroes. Look at all of the movies that have been blockbusters.

I think that’s why the Reacher books are so popular. They’re basically a more socially acceptable form of superhero comic books.

We all want to be that ultimate human being: someone who is physically and mentally better than everyone else. Maybe we want to go out and right all those wrongs in the world. The comic books do that – but they do it in a rather supernatural, fantasy type way.

Jack Reacher is more a down to earth superhero, and someone that we can all strive to be. I mean do you think for a minute you could fly around the planet like Superman, or climb and shoot webs like Spiderman? Of course not. But how many of you have read about Reachers ability to always know what time it is, and then copied that? How many of you have read “Reacher said nothing” and then actually tried to duplicate that in real life?

That to me, is a large part of the reason the Jack Reacher series is a success. He’s someone that we can live vicariously through, but in a method where it isn’t THAT surreal.

As for the books themselves – well they’re obviously all fantastic. I was lucky – I started off with the first one in the series which was Killing Floor. Always nice to get in on the ground floor – because it’s AMAZING to see how the series has progressed. Especially in the latter books – Lee Child has really got into the Jack Reacher character, and does some amazing things with him where you’d only truly appreciate if you read the order of Jack Reacher novels from the very beginning.

While we list the Chronological order of the books with the two novels that do flashbacks – I’d honestly not recommend that. I’d read them as they are. The Affair in particular is where Lee Child really has a lot of fun with Jack Reacher – but you’d only appreciate it more if you read all the previous books.

The Enemy is the other flashback Jack Reacher novel and although I enjoyed it, it is a bit dry. I would recommend reading the books from the very beginning.

Order of Books » Characters »