How can a Canadian immigrate to India

Canadian Immigration 2017Immigration Tips

5 Ways To Immigrate To Canada | Canadian Immigration

Immigrating to a new country is a difficult process and for newcomers looking to settle in Canada, there are many immigration programs to choose from. Here are 5 popular ways to immigrate to Canada as a permanent resident!

Free Assessment
  1. Express Entry
  2. Provincial Nominee Programs
  3. Quebec Immigration
  4. Studying in Canada
  5. Family Sponsorship


In 2015, the Federal Government of Canada introduced Express Entry, an application management system that governs all federal streams of economic immigration. Since then, thousands of principal applicants and their families have been invited to apply for Canadian permanent residence.

Currently, Express Entry is an umbrella system that governs the Federal Skilled Worker (FSW), Canadian Experience Class (CEC), and Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP). There are also some Provincial Nominee Programs  (PNPs) that are aligned with Express Entry.


Applicants looking to apply to one of the immigration streams governed by Express Entry must submit an Expression of Interest to the government of Canada. If you meet the minimum eligibility requirements of the program in question, you will be invited to the Express Entry pool.

There, you are given a Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score that is used to rank you against other applicants in the Express Entry pool. Every so often, Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) issues Invitations to Apply (ITAs) to the highest ranking individuals in the pool during an Express Entry draw. If you are among those issued an ITA, you will have 90 days to submit your application online for permanent residence.


As mentioned earlier, Express Entry currently governs the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSW), the Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP), and the Canadian Experience Class (CEC), each with its own eligibility requirements.

The Federal Skilled Worker program was specifically designed for immigrants with at least one year of skilled (NOC Code 0, A, B), full-time, continuous work experience. If you meet the minimum 67 point requirement for the program, you can enter the Express Entry pool. Learn more. The Federal Skilled Trades program requires that you have a minimum of two years full-time continuous work experience in a skilled trade in the past five years. You must also have an offer of full‐time employment in Canada in your skilled trade or hold a Canadian certificate of qualification to practice your skilled trade in Canada. Learn more. The Canadian Experience Class runs on a pass-fail system and is for individuals that have at least one year of full-time, continuous work experience in Canada. Learn more. *To find out if you are eligible to come to Canada through Express Entry, click here.


There are currently ten provinces and three territories in Canada, each of which has authority over its own immigration programs and policies. These provincial immigration streams are more commonly known as Provincial Nominee Programs (PNPs).


With so many PNPs to choose from, it’s difficult to determine which programs you qualify for and what eligibility requirements are needed. However, ideal candidates for PNP programs usually fall under one of these categories:

  1. Have recently worked in Canada, or are currently working on a valid work permit
  2. Are currently in the Express Entry pool and meet the eligibility criteria for one of the Provincial Nominee Programs aligned with Express Entry
  3. Have a connection to the province, in the form of studies, prior work experience, or a formal job offer
  4. Have a family member living in the province in question, which may assist your application for some PNPs

To see a list of all Provincial Nominee Programs and their requirements, click here.

NOTE: If the Provincial Nominee Program you are interested in is aligned with Express Entry, you will need to submit an Expression of Interest first to enter the Express Entry pool.


While Quebec is also a province of Canada, it has much more autonomy on how it runs its immigration programs and policies. Currently, there are no Quebec immigration streams that are aligned with Express Entry. Instead, you may choose to apply directly to the Quebec government for the Quebec Skilled Worker Program, the Quebec Experience Class, or Quebec Business Immigration.


All Quebec immigration programs are a part of a two-step process. Applicants interested in one of Quebec’s immigration streams must first apply to the Quebec government. If you are accepted, you are issued a Quebec Selection Certificate (CSQ). This certificate acknowledges that the Quebec government has accepted your application for your immigration program.

Afterwards, you are required to submit your application to the federal government for review. This is to ensure you are not medically or criminally inadmissible to Canada.


No province has as much of a robust provincial category of immigration as Quebec. As mentioned earlier, there are three immigration programs individuals can choose from: Quebec Skilled Worker Program (QSW), Quebec Experience Class (PEQ), and