Can a judge remove an IAS officer

Candidates opt for Civil Services not always due to the attraction of salary or perks. Though the private sector may offer better packages, the list of candidates who leave their cushy job to enter public service for a lesser salary is not small. Having said that, please don’t conclude that the salary of an IAS officer is too meagre. It’s not!

Salary of an IAS officer: 7th Pay Commission Recommendations

The starting salaries of all Civil Servants (Group A) are the same (Pay Level 10).

7th Pay Commission recommendations are approved by Cabinet on 29th June 2016. Now the basic pay of entry-level IAS officers is Rs. 56100. Allowances like Dearness Allowance (DA), House Rent Allowance (HRA) and Travel Allowance (TA) will be extra. The salary will increase as experience increases. The basic pay of Cabinet Secretary is fixed at Rs.2,50,000.

Total Salary = Basic Pay + DA + HRA + TA

The above-mentioned figures are basic salaries. You may also be entitled to HRA, DA and TA.

HRA would be 8-24% of Basic Salary. If you are getting official accommodation, HRA part won’t be credited to your salary.

DA would start from 0% after 7th pay commission recommendation. This component would be linked to inflation. But remember that DA had touched 107% of Basic Salary of government officers in 2015 and in future, the DA part would be significant. DA is revised on half yearly basis (January and July every year) depending on the inflation index (CPI).

You will also be given Travel Allowance (TA) to meet various expenses related to travel.

Note: There was another component called grade pay in government officers salary before. Now, this part is removed.

Thus, it can be seen that the total salary of entry-level IAS officers would be Rs 56100 + DA + House Rent Allowance + Transport Allowance.

The structure and goes up to Pay Level 18.

Understanding IAS officer’s salary structure: Based on 7th Pay Commission Recommendations

A new Pay Matrix system is introduced by the commission, which contains as many as 18 horizontal levels to take care of fixation of pay on MACP or Promotion. The vertical range for each of these 18 levels is meant for fixation of pay by providing annual increment.

7th Pay Commission has done away with the Pay Band – Grade Pay System (the first two rows shown in orange colour) which existed before. The previous pay bands are shown for comparison purpose only. The new Pay Levels are highlighted row-wise (1-18) from left to right in the above table. Within the same column, if you go downward, the pay for the next years are mentioned.

  •  IAS officers are usually promoted every 4-5 years.
  • The IAS officers get two extra-increment (6%) when they are Level 11, 12 and 13.
  • After the level 14 salaries of all officers are same.

Pay Level for each rank

The Pay Levels for each rank are as follows:

  • Level 10: (1-4yrs) ASP/SDM/ Asst. Commissioner in IRS
  • Level 11: (5-8 yrs) SP/DM/Deputy Commissioner in IRS
  • Level 12: (9-12 yrs) SSP/DM (DS in GOS)/Joint Commissioner in IRS
  • Level 13: ( 13-16 yrs) SSP/DM (Director in Government of India)/Additional Commissioner in IRS
  • Level 13A: (14th yr) DIG (No parallel Scale in IAS or IRS)
  • Level 14: (16-24 yrs) IG/Commissioner (IAS/IRS)/JS in GOI
  • Level 15: ( 25-30 yrs) ADG/Additional Secretary in GOI/Principal Secretary in State/ Principal Commissioner in IRS
  • Level 16: (30-33 yrs) Additional Chief Secretary /DG/Chief Commissioner in IRS
  • Level 17: (34-36 yrs) Chief Secretary/DG/Secretary of GOI/ Principal Chief Commissioner in IRS
  • Level 18: (37+ yrs) Cabinet Secretary to Government of India

HRA and Transport Allowance for Central Government Employees as recommended by 7th Pay Commission

HRA @ 24%, 16%, and 8% have been proposed for X, Y and Z class cities respectively. 7th Pay Commission has also recommended for enhancement of HRA while DA crosses 50% and 100%. As far as Transport Allowance is concerned, there is no increase. DA @ 125% has been merged with existing Transport Allowance.

7th Pay Commission has done away with the Pay Band – Grade Pay System which existed before.

Scales of IAS officers (Approx.)

  1. Junior Scales (0-4 years)
  2. Senior Scales (4-9 years)
  3. ->Senior Timescale (4 years+)
  4. ->Junior Administrative grade (9 years+)
  5. Selection Grade (13 years+)
  6. Super Times Scale(16 year+)
  7. Above Super Time Scale(25 years+)

Pay Scale, Pay Band, and Grade Pay: Before 7th Pay Commission Report was accepted

IAS salary structure consists of different Pay Scales: Junior Scale, Senior Scales, Super Time Scale, Above Super Time Scales etc. Each of the pay scales further consists of different pay bands.

  1. Junior Scale: Pay Band: Rs 15600-39100 plus Grade Pay Rs 5400
  2. Senior Time Scale: Pay Band: Rs 15600-39100 plus Grade Pay Rs 6600
  3. Junior Administrative Grade: Pay Band: Rs 15600-39100 plus Grade Pay Rs 7600
  4. Selection Grade: Pay Band: Rs 37400-67000 plus Grade Pay Rs 8700
  5. Super Time Scale: Pay Band: Rs 37400-67000 plus Grade Pay Rs 10000
  6. Above Super Time Scale
  • Rs 37400-67000. Plus Grade Pay of Rs 12000.
  • The Apex Pay Scale of Rs 80000 (fixed). No Grade Pay.
  • Cabinet Secretary Grade of Rs 90000 (fixed). No Grade Pay.

Civil Services Should Not Be attractive Because of Salary!

Of course, the IAS/IPS/IRS post needs rewards for all the hard work you did. The government should pay you well to have a decent living, but the perks and allowances should never be the attraction for aiming for Civil Services. As the name suggests, it is a service for the nation.

Reference: 7th Pay Commission Report, Newspapers, Quora.